Happy New Year! Hope you all enjoyed the holidays and are ready for 2013. We are planning all of our classes and potlucks. Hope you can come on Tuesday, January 29th at 6:30 in Whole Foods on St. Francis and Cordova.

Here is a great post on bees from Jannine Cabossel.

giantveggiegardener

honey 2012

It is now almost January but I must share something that is very exciting for a first year beekeeper. I was able to harvest 12 jars of honey last fall from 3.5 bars of honeycomb before I put the bees to bed for winter last October. I still left them 14 bars full of honey and brood to survive the winter which should be more than enough food for them. This was my first year with Italian honeybees. I put them in an empty topbar hive (there is one more established topbar hive with Russian honeybees on the property that I didn’t take any honey from this year). The Italian girls did spectacular, producing many bars of honey for the first year in a rather dismal year for flowers and nectar. Molto Bene! I started them from a 4 lb package of bees I received last April and I did subsidize…

View original post 474 more words

Leave a Reply

