Time to start planting summer vegetables!!

growfood,not lawns

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

May 15th is around the corner and many of us are chomping at the bit to get growing!

IMG_8979

My trusty KRQE weather app on my phone says we are over the freezing nights and I believe we are out of the woods.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

wall of waters

However, having said that, I would not plant my tomatoes in the ground without protection. I use wall of waters to protect them from the still chilly nights.

wow done

Temperatures in the 40’s at night are still cold (just not freezing). The wall of waters will absorb the heat from the sun in the day and give it back to the plants at night keeping them warm.

Other warm season crops can be started from seed outside especially when we get up into the 50’s at night. If it gets cold again at night, cover the new baby plants with row cover to protect them-think of it as a nice warm blanket on them.

I will still WAIT TO PLANT my PEPPER PLANTS until the FIRST WEEK OF JUNE as they really hate being cold and will usually stall out if you plant those now. Just keep them in your house until then.

 

One response to “Time to start planting summer vegetables!!

  1. sophiefrancoise

    Thank you, Jannine, for all of your wonderful gardening advice and suggestions. You are so very kind and generous that way…
    I never get around to planting my veggies until Memorial Day weekend, when I finally “wake up” and realize that I’ve gotta get them veggies into
    the “dirt” soon…
    Hey, I plan to buy all of my tomatoes from YOU, and all the other veggies
    from the Farmers’ Markets around town. It’s super important to support
    our farmers!

    love xxx Lynne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

